Book Review: Clockwork Prince by: Cassandra Clare

Clockwork Prince is the second book in the series of The Infernal Devices. This 502 paged book leads off from where Clockwork Angel last left off. Let’s just get into the review.

My thoughts throughout the book drove me crazy. I seemed to find this book more negative rather than a positive. About half way through the book I began to get irritated. Tessa just pissed me off most of the time with her whole love triangle thing. I just felt like she couldn’t choose a side to which guy she wants to be with until

***Spoiler alert Jem proposes to her. Which was a let down. I never got a romance vibe from then until he proposed… which made the relationship a complete and total rush.

Also the last chapter of this book was just a pure let down. I really didn’t care for it and there really wasn’t anything special that I felt about it. I did however really enjoy the very last page that left me off with suspense that the final book (Clockwork Princess) could have an awesome ending to this series. One positive I did find with this book was the amount of detail she put into this book. For example in Chapter 9 on page 187 in the third paragraph, it is so detailed and I love that it gives you a true feeling of the era.

By the time that it is all said and done, this book did not impress me whatsoever. I felt the whole book was lacking, and the “love triangle” part drove me insane. I sadly felt nothing special about this book, which is a shame, since I thought the first book, was pretty awesome and amazing. I don’t really understand all the hype for this book. I can only have hope that Clockwork Princess will be better and not such a let down. My rating for this book is 3/5 stars.

 

Leave a Reply

