Book Review: Lola and the Boy Next Door

Lola and the Boy Next Door begins with fashion costume extraordinaire Lola on designing her Marie Antoinette dress for her winter formal. That’s not the only costume she has made. Her life and closet is full of eccentric pieces that shine out her personality. Everything is perfect in her life including her boyfriend Max, who is in a band playing at gigs every so often. But her happy life isn’t always what it seems until the Bell family moves back in…right next door to them. And not only is that bad news but Cricket is back to stay for good and Lola is not prepared for what happens next.

My rating for this book is 3/5 stars. Unfortunately I really didn’t care for this book. I felt Anna was so amazing when I read it, but once I got to Lola things just didn’t seem the same. I felt Ann and St. Clair acted different from when I read Anna and the French Kiss, but it was nice to see them tied in with this book. Another reason why this book made me not so pleasant was the awful love triangle. I think love triangles can be done very well except for this one. I had to read 254 pages to finally get over the whole stupid Max scenario, which annoyed me to the universe and back. I think it made me hard to read this book and not finish it rather quick. But on the more brighter side the last two chapters were just so beautifully written and made me blush multiple times and gave me that “true” Stephanie Perkins feel. I’m glad I’ve read this book and I can’t wait to see what Isla and the Happily Ever After brings to the table.

Leave a Reply

