Book Review: The Selection by: Kiera Cass

selection-cvr

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

Summary from Goodreads.com

Meh. The one word that described my reading progress throughout this book. This read was neither the best or worst.

The Setting

  • The setting for this particular book described by goodreads.com is YA and Sci-fi/Dystopia. I got the YA feel even though it felt more middle grade to me, but the Sci-fi/Dystopia part? Ummm what the heck. I got that society has fallen and everything is a mess with a war going on. To myself I felt no Sci-fi Dystopia feeling what so ever besides the Caste system and the “rebel” fights. Other than that I did not get a feeling for Sci-fi or Dystopia.

The Main Characters

  • So here’s a little throw down on what characters I like/dislike. America: sometimes enjoyable, but mainly annoying and winy. Why she’s SO in love with Aspen? I have the slightest clue. Aspen: jerk. Prince Maxon: charming, enjoyable, and my favorite character.

The Main Conflict

  • That’s cool if America wants to rebel against her parents and not want to join the Selection, but I wished we could follow a different character’s POV… (cough cough Prince Maxon). If we followed his POV I think that this could be a pretty cool novel but with the winy chick handling this story was not okay. Anyways I felt the main conflict was boring and hopefully it gets more enjoyable through the following books.

Other Issues

  • More chick fights/Competition

I wished this book had more competition and girl fights. You’re fighting to be there and be the feature princess/queen of Illéa. Maybe I got my hopes to high for this aspect I was looking forward to.

  • Sucky foreshadowing/Very predicable

I found this book very predicable at times (like the ending). It made for a lack in suspense and not very climatic.

Final Thought.

  • This book was not what I expected. I thought there would be a lot more girls fighting and crying, rather then some girl in a horrible love triangle. This is one example of a book where the love triangle thing just does not work with the story (at least in my opinion). I wished I could have liked it more but I didn’t not. So with all the crap I had to deal with throughout this book, I ended up giving a 3/5 star review for this book. Yes I had a lot of cons, but I still enjoyed it enough to get through it along with my fav character, Prince Maxon, who helped made this an enjoyable read.

 

Leave a Reply

