Book Review: The Death Cure by James Dashner

Let’s just say I was very hesitant to pick up this novel after hearing the dislike and negative reviews, but I was not going to let that stop me from reading this novel. I had to know what was going to happen in the end! I have to say this was way better than I expected it to be. The Death Cure was a thousand times better than The Scorch Trials, but I must say The Maze Runner is still my favorite out of this trilogy.

Going into this novel I had very low expectations due to all the dislike towards this installment, but I was proven wrong. This final installment was packed full of action and adventure that made it very hard to put down. When I had only 100 pages left I was a tad bit nervous though. I didn’t know how things were going to be wrapped up, but Dashner pulled it off. Yes the ending was a bit to open for my liking, but I felt that it was a nice conclusion to the story seeing everyone safe and sound. I could really go for another installment, whether it be a short novella or a whole novel, talking about life after the ending.

Overall very impressed with this final installment. It deserves a 5/5 star rating from me. The entire book felt like one huge adrenaline rush for me and I love how it kept my attention, just like The Maze Runner. I highly recommend not only this book, but this series.

Leave a Reply

